Fire-poker princesses: a snapshot of female violence in nineteenth-century England

The following are a small selection of newspaper articles from the British Newspaper Archive showing a prevalence of severe violence perpetrated by women against men in the nineteenth century. Click on images to enlarge where needed. – PW

1809 Hereford Journal - Wednesday 18 October 1809

1822 Morning Chronicle - Monday 06 May 1822

1823 Bristol Mirror - Saturday 26 April 1823

1838 Morning Post - Tuesday 27 February 1838

1839 Morning Post - Wednesday 26 June 1839

1846 Reading Mercury - Saturday 01 August 1846

1852 Morning Post - Monday 28 June 1852

1853 Leicester Chronicle - Saturday 29 January 1853

1853 Morning Post - Thursday 03 February 1853

1858 Dundee, Perth, and Cupar Advertiser - Tuesday 23 March 1858

1861 Dundee Advertiser - Monday 23 September 1861

1861 Morning Chronicle - Thursday 03 October 1861

1863 Gloucester Journal - Saturday 07 November 1863

1864 Belfast News-Letter - Tuesday 19 July 1864

1864 Belfast News-Letter - Wednesday 20 July 1864

1865 Dundee Advertiser - Friday 14 April 1865

1865 Lloyd's Weekly Newspaper - Sunday 12 November 1865

1867 London Evening Standard - Friday 04 October 1867

1867 Sussex Agricultural Express - Tuesday 07 May 1867

1869 Lloyd's Weekly Newspaper - Sunday 09 May 1869

1869 London Standard - Friday 27 August 1869

1869 Western Daily Press - Monday 25 January 1869

1870 Essex Standard - Friday 02 December 1870

1872 Bristol Mercury - Saturday 22 June 1872

1872 Falkirk Herald - Thursday 20 June 1872

1874 Sheffield Daily Telegraph - Tuesday 14 April 1874

1874 Worcester Journal - Saturday 17 October 1874

1875 Derby Mercury - Wednesday 21 July 1875

1877 London Daily News - Wednesday 20 June 1877

1877 Staffordshire Sentinel - Friday 01 June 1877

1878 Leeds Mercury - Friday 06 December 1878

1885 Hampshire Telegraph - Saturday 11 April 1885

1889 Sheffield Daily Telegraph - Thursday 03 January 1889

1892 London Standard - Monday 24 October 1892

1896 Exeter Flying Post - Saturday 09 May 1896

See also:

Riding the Donkey Backwards: Men as the Unacceptable Victims of Marital Violence
“Stang riding” as punishment for male victims of intimate partner violence
The Henpecked Club – a 200 year fellowship of abused husbands
A random selection of nineteenth century newspaper articles referencing stanging

2 thoughts on “Fire-poker princesses: a snapshot of female violence in nineteenth-century England

  1. estepheavfm

    This is HISTORY. It is not a selection of illustrations of some “theory.” It is a representation of reality. As such it will be ignored by tenured professors and opinion-makers in the mainstream media. Truth is hard to harness. Harnessing is the point of the non-education and ideological indoctrination. — History is a powerful weapon. And this little post is valuable. This is HISTORY.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s